Misdemeanor Offense Levels in the State of Texas
Misdemeanors are crimes that can be punished by up to a year in the county jail. Under Texas state law, there are
three levels of misdemeanor offenses:
Class C Misdemeanors are punishable by up to a $500 fine. These types of offenses are prosecuted in municipal courts or justice of the peace courts. While this type of offense is not punishable by time in jail, failure to appear before the court can result in a warrant being issued for the personís arrest.
Class B Misdemeanors are punishable by up to 180 days (6 months) in the county jail and a maximum fine of $2,000.
Class A Misdemeanors are punishable by up to 1 year in the county jail and a maximum fine of $4,000.
While misdemeanors do not carry the same prison exposure as felony offenses, a misdemeanor conviction can negatively
affect a person in a number of ways, including an inability to work in certain professions or hold certain professional
or recreational licenses. In addition, misdemeanor convictions can be used to increase the punishment on subsequent
charges and may have immigration consequences for non-citizens.